top of page

Debut album "Souvenirs"

Album Souvenirs Cover.jpg

Release Date: March 22nd, 2024

Label: Immersive Sound Art

From New York via Amsterdam to Paris and Vienna – on their debut album the Onyx Piano Duo combines musical souvenirs from four different countries to create a colourful overall picture. In this personal retrospective, well-known piano works for four hands appear in a new light alongside exciting discoveries - always united by the two pianists' captivating joy of performing.

Samuel Barber: Souvenirs op. 28

Leo Smit: Divertimento

Maurice Ravel: Ma mère l'Oye

W.A. Mozart: Sonata C major K.521

Stereo-CD and Pure Audio Blu-ray (immersive Dolby-Atmos format)

28-page booklet in German and English

Programme notes by Holger Slowik

Illustrations by Isabel Roos

"These recordings are brilliant, as is the playing of the Onyx Duo, who is bursting with playfulness and creative joy on this debut album. When has Maurice Ravel's Ma mère l'Oye ever been heard as beautifully, intimately and sonically as it is here? (...) Souvenirs is pure listening pleasure."

- Alain Steffen, pizzicato

"The Onyx piano duo (...) plays with extraordinary sensitivity, unrivalled precision and an unerring feel for subtle nuances. (...) shows a piano duo that is not only perfectly attuned to each other, but also makes music in a highly refreshing and infectious way. From Mozart to Barber, everything is played with nuance, at the highest technical level and with relish."

- Guido Krawinkel, Klassik heute

bottom of page

top of page

Debütalbum "Souvenirs"

Album Souvenirs Cover.jpg

Veröffentlichung: 22. März 2024

Label: Immersive Sound Art

Von New York über Amsterdam nach Paris und Wien – das Onyx Klavierduo kombiniert auf seinem Debütalbum musikalische Souvenirs aus vier unterschiedlichen Ländern zu einem farbenreichen Gesamtbild. In dieser persönlichen Retrospektive erscheinen bekannte vierhändige Werke neben spannenden Entdeckungen in neuem Licht – stets vereint von der mitreißenden Spielfreude der beiden Pianisten. 

Samuel Barber: Souvenirs op. 28

Leo Smit: Divertimento

Maurice Ravel: Ma mère l'Oye

W.A. Mozart: Sonate C-Dur KV 521

Stereo-CD und Pure Audio Blu-ray (immersives Dolby-Atmos-Format)

28-seitiges Booklet auf Deutsch und Englisch

Werkeinführung von Holger Slowik

Illustrationen von Isabel Roos

"Brilliant sind diese Aufnahmen, brillant ist das Spiel des Onyx Duo, das hier in diesem Debut Album vor Spiel und Gestaltungsfreude nur so spüht. Wann hat man je Maurice Ravels Ma mère l'Oye so schön, innig und klanglich überragend gehört wie hier? (...) Souvenirs ist einfach purstes Hörvergnügen."

- Alain Steffen, pizzicato

"Das Onyx Klavierduo (...) spielt mit außerordentlichem Feingefühl, beispielloser Präzision und einem treffsicheren Gespür für subtile Nuancen. (...) zeigen ein Klavierduo, das nicht nur perfekt aufeinander eingespielt ist, sondern auf höchst erfrischende und ansteckende Art und Weise Musik macht. Von Mozart bis Barber ist alles nuacenreich gespielt technisch auf allerhöchstem Niveau und lustvoll musiziert."

- Guido Krawinkel, Klassik heute

bottom of page