top of page
ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-159-min.jpg

Souvenirs

CD programme

Piano four hands

From New York via Amsterdam to Paris and Vienna – in this programme the Onyx Piano Duo combines musical souvenirs from four different countries to create a colourful overall picture. The lively “Divertimento” by the unjustly neglected composer Leo Smit meets Ravel’s “Ma Mère l’Oye” and Samuel Barber’s ballet suite “Souvenirs”, musical memories of his youth. The concert opens with Mozart's virtuoso C major Sonata KV 521, one of the great masterpieces for piano four hands. The Onyx Piano Duo's debut album with this program has been released in March 2024.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonate C-Dur KV 521

Maurice Ravel: Ma Mère l‘Oye

PAUSE

Leo Smit: Divertimento

Samuel Barber: Souvenirs op.28

ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-191-min.jpg

Dreamscapes

Piano four hands

The Onyx Piano Duo takes the audience on a journey through different dream worlds: imaginative character pieces from four different countries lead from Dvorák's folkloric legends an the "Summer Dreams" by the American composer Amy Beach to Ravel's magical fairy tale settings "Ma Mère l'Oye". The finale is Mendelssohn's brilliant incidental music for Shakespeare's "Midsummer Night's Dream", arranged for piano duet by the composer himself, and a musical and pianistic firework.

Anonin Dvorák: Legenden op.59 (Auswahl)

Amy Beach: Summer Dreams op.47

Maurice Ravel: Ma Mère l'Oye

 

PAUSE

 

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy:

“Ein Sommernachtstraum“ op.61

Black and white

Piano four hands and 2 pianos

Magical transcriptions of Bach’s chorales and arias are the focus of the first part of the concert. They are framed by two works by Debussy that couldn't be more different: the Petite Suite, with its innocent dances and disarmingly beautiful harmonies, and the late work “En Blanc et Noir”, written during the First World War and musically forward-looking. At around the same time, Ravel composes his powerful vision of a Viennese waltz, which is increasingly about to sink into chaos. Finally, in Tansman's ballet music “The Night Train,” a dreamed waltz is juxtaposed with a tango - always accompanied by the rattling rhythm of the train.

Claude Debussy: Petite Suite

Johann Sebastian Bach: Choral-Transkriptionen

Claude Debussy: En Blanc et Noir

 

PAUSE

 

Alexandre Tansman: Le Train de Nuit

Maurice Ravel: La Valse

Kammermusikfestival_Wü_SA_DSC2288©Katharina-Gebauer_edited.jpg
ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-214-min.jpg

Dancing keys

Piano four hands

With 20 fingers on 88 keys, four-handed piano playing is almost predestined for musical dances. Brahms' varied waltz miniatures are followed by Barber's rarely played "Souvenirs" - a ballet music full of catchy melodies and rousing rhythms. Debussy's “Petite Suite” consisting of four poetic character pieces, on the other hand, remains enchantingly simple, making it one of the most popular four-handed piano works. At the end, three scenes from another piece of ballet music are heard: Stravinsky's highly virtuosic four-handed version of “Pétrouchka” impressively unfolds the piano's full orchestral potential.

Johannes Brahms: Walzer op.39

Samuel Barber: Souvenirs op.28

 

PAUSE

 

Claude Debussy: Petite Suite

Igor Strawinsky: Drei Sätze aus Pétrouchka

Fantasy images

Piano four hands

In the final years of their lives, both Mozart and Schubert wrote fantasies in F minor: Mozart composed a funeral music, originally for a mechanical flute clock, that juxtaposes dramatic and tender elements, while Schubert's monumental fantasy is one of his most famous works and unfolds an enormous emotional spectrum. The second part invites the audience to let their imagination wander into distant lands: first with Schumann's "Pictures from the East", inspired by Arabic poetry, and finally with Ravel's "Rhapsodie espagnol", from the delicate and dream-like "Prélude à la nuit" to the passionate “Feria”.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Fantasie f-Moll KV 608

Johann Sebastian Bach: Transkriptionen

Franz Schubert: Fantasie f-Moll D940

 

PAUSE

 

Robert Schumann: Bilder aus Osten op.66

Maurice Ravel: Rhapsodie espagnole

ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-242-min.jpg

Further programme suggestions can be agreed individually. Please feel free to contact us! 

bottom of page

top of page
ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-159-min.jpg

Souvenirs

CD-Programm

Klavier vierhändig

Von New York über Amsterdam nach Paris und Wien – das Onyx Klavierduo kombiniert in diesem Programm musikalische Souvenirs aus vier unterschiedlichen Ländern zu einem farbenreichen Gesamtbild: das spritzige „Divertimento“ des zu Unrecht in Vergessenheit geratenen Komponisten Leo Smit spannt über Ravels „Märchen der Mutter Gans“ den Bogen zu Samuel Barbers Ballettsuite „Souvenirs“, musikalischen Erinnerungen an seine Jugendzeit. Eröffnet wird das Konzert von Mozarts virtuoser C-Dur Sonate KV 521, einem der großen Meisterwerke für vierhändiges Klavier. Das Debütalbum des Onyx Klavierduos mit diesem Programm ist im März 2024 erschienen.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonate C-Dur KV 521

Maurice Ravel: Ma Mère l‘Oye

PAUSE

Leo Smit: Divertimento

Samuel Barber: Souvenirs op.28

ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-191-min.jpg

Traumwelten

Klavier vierhändig

Das Onyx Klavierduo entführt das Publikum auf eine Reise durch verschiedene Traumwelten: Fantasievolle Charakterstücke aus vier unterschiedlichen Ländern führen von Dvoráks folkloristischen Legenden über die „Summer Dreams“ der amerikanischen Komponistin Amy Beach bis hin zu Ravels zauberhaften Märchenvertonungen „Ma Mère l’Oye“. Den Abschluss bildet Mendelssohns geniale Bühnenmusik zu Shakespeares „Sommernachtstraum“, vom Komponisten selbst für Klavierduo bearbeitet, und ein musikalisches wie pianistisches Feuerwerk.

Anonin Dvorák: Legenden op.59 (Auswahl)

Amy Beach: Summer Dreams op.47

Maurice Ravel: Ma Mère l'Oye

 

PAUSE

 

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy:

“Ein Sommernachtstraum“ op.61

Schwarz und Weiß

Klavier vierhändig und 2 Klaviere

Zauberhafte Bearbeitungen Bach’scher Choräle und Arien stehen im Mittelpunkt des ersten Konzertteils. Eingerahmt werden sie von zwei Werken Debussys wie sie unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten: Die Petite Suite, mit ihren unschuldigen Tänzen und entwaffnend schönen Harmonien, sowie das Spätwerk „En Blanc et Noir“, entstanden während des Ersten Weltkrieges und musikalisch in die Zukunft weisend. Etwa zur gleichen Zeit komponiert Ravel seine gewaltige Vision eines Wiener Walzers, der zunehmend im Chaos zu versinken droht. In Tansmans „Nachtzug“ hingegen wird dem geträumten Walzer ein Tango gegenübergestellt - stets begleitet vom ratternden Rhythmus des Zuges.

Claude Debussy: Petite Suite

Johann Sebastian Bach: Choral-Transkriptionen

Claude Debussy: En Blanc et Noir

 

PAUSE

 

Alexandre Tansman: Le Train de Nuit

Maurice Ravel: La Valse

Kammermusikfestival_Wü_SA_DSC2288©Katharina-Gebauer_edited.jpg
ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-214-min.jpg

Tastentänze

Klavier vierhändig

Vierhändiges Klavierspiel – mit 20 Fingern auf 88 Tasten geradezu prädestiniert für musikalische Tänze. Auf Brahms‘ abwechslungsreiche WalzerMiniaturen folgen die selten gespielten „Souvenirs“ von Barber – später als Ballettmusik orchestriert und voll von eingängigen Melodien und mitreißenden Rhythmen. Debussys „Petite Suite“ aus vier poetischen Tonbildern hingegen bleibt bezaubernd schlicht, und ist gerade dadurch eines der beliebtesten vierhändigen Klavierwerke. Zum Abschluss erklingen drei Szenen aus einer weiteren Ballettmusik: Stravinskys hochvirtuose vierhändige Fassung von „Pétrouchka“ entfaltet auf beeindruckende Weise das ganze orchestrale Potential des Klaviers.

Johannes Brahms: Walzer op.39

Samuel Barber: Souvenirs op.28

 

PAUSE

 

Claude Debussy: Petite Suite

Igor Strawinsky: Drei Sätze aus Pétrouchka

Fantasiebilder

Klavier vierhändig

In ihren letzten Lebensjahren schreiben sowohl Mozart als auch Schubert Fantasien in f-Moll: Mozart komponiert eine Trauermusik, ursprünglich für eine mechanische Flötenuhr, die dramatische und zärtliche Elemente nebeneinanderstellt; Schuberts monumentale Fantasie ist eines seiner berühmtesten Werke und entfaltet ein enormes emotionales Spektrum. Der zweite Teil lädt das Publikum dazu ein, die Fantasie in ferne Länder schweifen zu lassen: Zunächst mit Schumanns von arabischer Dichtung inspirierten „Bildern aus Osten“, und zum Abschluss mit Ravels „Spanischer Rhapsodie“, vom zart verträumten „Prélude à la nuit“ bis zur leidenschaftlich virtuosen „Feria“.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Fantasie f-Moll KV 608

Johann Sebastian Bach: Transkriptionen

Franz Schubert: Fantasie f-Moll D940

 

PAUSE

 

Robert Schumann: Bilder aus Osten op.66

Maurice Ravel: Rhapsodie espagnole

ONYX_Klavierduo©LukasDiller-242-min.jpg

Weitere Programmvorschläge können individuell vereinbart werden. Sprechen Sie uns gerne an! 

bottom of page